Languages - The Guaraní language

Pertaining to the large South American linguistics branch of Tupí-Guaraní, this language includes, within the Paraguayan territory, the dialects that correspond to the Mbayá, the Avá Guayakí, those who are considered “Paraguayan-Guaraní” by the majority of the country’s population.  In the Constitution of 1992, Guaraní achieved recognition as official state language for the entire territory, equal to Spanish, a demand that has increased its prestige in American language academia and among intellectuals from the most important universities in the world. 

The foundation for the recognition of Guaraní as an official language was overseen by the writer Rubén Bareiro Saguier, and his arguments were supported by other writers:  Carlos Villagra Marsal and Tadeo Zaratea, all of whom were respected researchers and defenders of the Guaraní language.

The new Constitution of Paraguay establishes the bases for a gradual revitalization and honoring of Guaraní.  In 1993 the National Commission on Bilingualism was created, which, together with the Advisory Board for Education Reform, designed the Bilingual Education Program with two models: one driven toward Spanish-speaking children, and the other toward the Guaraní-speaking children.  This program began implementation in 1994 and has given highly satisfactory results in its first decade of experimentation.