Languages - Other languages

Currently, 17 indigenous ethnicities survive within the Paraguayan territory and they correspond to 5 different linguistic families.

In addition to Guaraní, other languages and dialects are spoken that correspond to another four linguistic families:  Toba-Maskoy Language, Mataco Mataguayo, Zamuco and Guaicurú.  In some areas where foreign communities have settled, Portuguese, German and Japanese are also spoken.