Paraguay enjoys a representative, participative and pluralist democracy, guaranteed by the first article of the current National Constitution.

The state is composed of three branches:  the Executive, the Legislative and the Judicial.  The chief of the Executive branch, with the charge of the President of the Republic, remains in office for a period of five years.